‘the self’

I have become...
I have become the source of your sadness;
I have become the source of your tear;
I have become the source of your pain;
I have become the source of your fear;
I have become the source of your worries;
I have become the source of your problems;
I have become the source of your anger;
So what?
I am your addiction.
The only reason you wake up in the morning;
The only reason you feed on the fatty crap;
I am no longer your source; I am your god;
I am no longer your ecstasy;
So messed up you can’t even know if it’s real,
Or your just having another dream;
So what?
I am your other guardian.
Lingering in your every step;
Mirroring your every action and thought;
You stare at the stream;
Who is this person?
Trapped in your own body,
Unable to recognize the flared image staring back,
Eyes wide open, not a clue who you are,
Where you are. . .
Just breathing. . .
Just living. . .
In your own shell of a life,
Having become your own worst nightmare.

So what?
I have become everything you wanted me to be…
You have destroyed yourself because I am.

2 thoughts on “‘the self’

Leave a Reply

