krakow,poland

I have finally decided to write about this because

  • It’s about time I did
  • The accurate memory of events is starting to fade slowly

It was winter break in Poland, not sure if it was end of January or beginning of February (see what I mean) but this was my visit to Krakow, Poland. We departed from Warsaw on Wednesday and headed to Krakow by road a 6 hours journey. We had pre booked a hostel which was quite affordable and student friendly called  backpackers  it was around $7 or Ksh. 600 a day. I was travelling with five other students and friends from different countries so it was quite fun I must say.

Here are some pics …

;):)
;):)
3
the churches
4
the big bell
6
Kraków
Auschwitz - labour makes (you) free
Auschwitz – labour makes (you) free

Day 1

We arrived in Krakow around 3 pm I guess and started our hunt for the hostel, none of us could speak Polish so Google maps was our sole guide plus an expert backpacker, one of the 6 – thank God for you girl.  We finally found the place, we were freezing it was minus something outside and snowing so we got to our room and headed out for something warm. It was a small cosy restaurant with a warm ambiance can still remember the feeling of my warm latte.

Day 2

We embarked on our trip to auschwitz birkenau which was around one and a half hours away. Being a non-European I actually learned a lot about the world war II that day and all the sad and very wrong things that went down with that. It was a long trip and tour and we actually spent the whole day there, we had hired a cab driver who took us to the place and picked  us up for Ksh.1000 or each.$12 quite student friendly.  We passed by a small church on our way back one the oldest one in Poland. We arrived at Krakow hostel 6pm my friends went out dancing later and I was left in the hostel on Skype with my boyfriend (you don’t wanna read about that, trust me).

Day 3

This was our final day in Krakow, we went to visit the city square, the malls and the old churches/ big bell.Krakow the town isn’t that big or at least the places we toured  because we walked everywhere. The results to this was freezing and numb   feet not a good idea but trust me we had worse ideas, think of a day in the zoo at -12c. Nevertheless, this was a wonderful day for me and Krakow is really beautiful apart from the cold in January, we then checked back to the hostel to check out and say good bye to Krakow and back to Warsaw in preparation to work on Monday.

For me I had another thing planned, I was visiting another town called Krosno through another town called Rzeszow. This was my first time travelling alone in a foreign country, I was a nervous wreck !! So I bid my friends good bye and it was google maps again to the bus station… Me, a Black girl, with no Polish, alone, travelling to remote locations in Poland -oh boy, that’s a story for another day

Cost of travel per person Warsaw to Krakow

Bus Ksh.2000 or $25

Hostel Ksh. 600*3 or $7*3

Tour Ksh 1000 0r $12

Food and Drinks Ksh 1500 or $20

Travel Advisory: Tour in summer !!!!

2 thoughts on “krakow,poland

  1. its amazing how you find marvellous experiences and on a budget…thank you for all the tips..

  2. sounds like you had a blast apert from the cold, really impressive and on a budget too…:-)…great read.

Leave a Reply

